Year in Review

2014 was… how do I put this… Fucking. Awesome. I won two marathons and knocked over 15 minutes off my PR. I ran in the Austrian Alps and on the beaches of Thailand. I met some incredible and smart people- clients, Impala teammates, new friends- who completely changed my life for the better. It’s going to be hard to top 2014, but I have some ideas on how to make 2015 my greatest year yet. As I sit here writing this I’m sipping coffee on a deck overlooking the ocean in Hawaii. I’m pretty sure there’s no better way to welcome in the New Year, so bring it on 2015!!!

I run so hard I explode shoes.

I run so hard I explode shoes.

2014 STATS:
2,501.5 miles
358h 343m
180,226 feet climbed
305 runs
3 marathon PRs
4 countries run in
8 pairs of sneakers destroyed

 

2014 HIGHLIGHTS:

The Boston Marathon: Because of what happened last year, there was an electricity in the air. It was the best marathon I’ve ever run, start to finish. I nabbed a 10-minute PR and nailed my fueling strategy. I was so completely overwhelmed by the support of the crowds and my family and friends. And Meb won!!!! No race will ever come close to this one.

I love this race more than anything.

The best race of all time.

30 for 30 Birthday Run: I turned 30 this August, so I celebrated by running 30 miles around San Francisco. So many friends came out to run with me. It was an incredibly special day.

I have amazing friends

I have amazing friends who also love neon.

Winning two races: Two marathon wins in two weeks, and a new PR of 3:07. October was one hell of a month.

I won the Stinson Beach trail marathon! My prize? That sweet rubber chicken.

I won the Stinson Beach trail marathon! My prize? That sweet rubber chicken.

The North Face 50 miler: It was described by many as the most competitive 50 mile race of the year. I was scared out of my mind for this day. But it comes in a close second to the Boston Marathon as the best race I’ve ever run. I was literally smiling for 9 hours. Who actually likes running that much?? I can’t wait to do this one again.

This race was extra special because of the people around me.

This race was extra special because of the people around me.

LOOKING FORWARD
2014 was the best. I ran all over the world, didn’t deal with any major injuries, and won two races. How can I top that? Well, I have a few ideas. I’m not content just sitting around waiting for things to get awesome, so I have to chase it and make it my own! Maybe you can implement a few of these as well to make your year in-fucking-credible.

Smart Goals: Pick 2-3 races to give your all at. Mine? The Boston Marathon in April and The North Face Endurance Challenge 50 mile race in December. Yep, the same two races I focused on in 2014. But this year I’ll be pushing myself even harder. I want to run sub-3:00 at Boston, and at the 50 miler I want to crack top 15 women. These specific goals will keep me on track and focused with my training. I’m also giving myself some fun goals: run 12 Tam summits and hit over 200,000 vertical feet climbed.

More views like this in 2015

More views like this in 2015

Get help: I’m hiring a coach. I’ve done pretty well training myself, but I want to be better. An outside perspective will break me out of any running ruts I’ve fallen into, and let me focus on my clients instead of debating how far I should run or what workout I should do. Asking for help is not a sign of weakness, it’s what smart people do. What do you need help with? Nutrition, strength training, finances? There’s always someone more knowledgeable than you who is able to help. The investment is worth it to guide your life in the direction you want it to go.

Time management: I’m going to set a more rigid schedule for myself, and actually stick to it. This past year was great business-wise, but sometimes I was so busy I had to skip lunch or a workout. And when I don’t eat or run, I get cranky and that’s no good for anyone. So this year I’m segmenting my schedule: clients in the morning/afternoon, Angela’s workout in the late afternoon, and then studying/researching/client programming in the evening. Putting workouts and meals in your calendar helps you respect that time. It really is just as important as those meetings or phone calls you’re obligated to attend.

Learn more: With my job, every day brings an opportunity to learn something new. My clients are constantly challenging me, and I get such satisfaction when I solve their pain or injury issue. I want to be the best trainer possible, so I’m taking this one step further in 2015: I’m investing in my education and will get certified as a CHEK Exercise Coach. I just finished up the pre-req courses and my mind was blown over and over. Knowledge empowers and gives confidence. Again, the investment here is always worth it. Have you ever regretted education? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Stay open: I will say “yes” more. I will seek out new experiences and take more chances. I will not stop exploring (“#neverstopexploring” -The North Face). When you open yourself up and become available to new possibilities, good things will come. Sometimes this requires trimming the fat: leaving a job or breaking up with toxic friends. It can be very hard to take the leap, but it is worth it for your happiness.

So go forward into 2015 excited for the possibilities, ready to work hard and have fun, and embracing anything that life might throw at you. Make this the year you learn to fly.

FLY!

FLY!

“Leave the door open for the unknown, the door into the dark. That’s where the most important things come from, where you yourself came from, and where you will go… Love, wisdom, grace, inspiration– how do you go about finding these things that are in some ways about extending the boundaries of the self into unknown territory, about becoming someone else?”
-Rebecca Solnit

2 thoughts on “Year in Review

  1. Pingback: Fellow Blogger: Angela Tieri | Runner's Psyche

Leave a Reply

